Term dates and attendance

Academic Year 2020/2021

 School opens Autumn term 2020  School closes
Thursday 3rd September   Friday 23rd October
Half term
Monday 2nd November Thursday 17th December
Spring term 2021
Monday 4th January   Friday 12th February
Half term
Monday 22nd February   Thursday 1st April
Summer term 2021
Monday 19th April Friday 28th May
Half term 
Monday 14th June Friday 23rd July

School Closed (Staff Training)

Tuesday 1st September 2020
Wednesday 2nd September 2020
Friday 18th December 2020(Trafford granted each school an extra INSET day)
6 Twilight Sessions

*The school will also be closed on Monday 3rd May 2021 (Bank holiday)

No holidays in school time will be authorised  – Please see here for full information

Academic Year 2021/2022

School opens  Autumn Term 2021 School closes
Monday 6th September Friday 22nd October
Half term
Monday 1st November Friday 17th  December
Spring term 2022
Tuesday 4th January Friday 11th February
Half term
Monday 21st February Friday 8th April
Summer term 2022
Monday 25th April   Friday 27th May
Half term 
Monday 13th June   Tuesday 26th July

School Closed (Public Holidays)

Monday, 2  May 2022

Friday, 28 May 2022– Bank Holiday in Lieu of Queens Jubilee

No holidays in school time will be authorised  – Please see here for full information

School Closed (Staff Training)

Thursday 2nd September 2021
Friday 3rd September 2021
6 Twilight Sessions

Absences

Please remember to telephone the office before 8.45am if your child is absent from school so we can record the reason, otherwise the absence will be classed as unauthorised. If you telephone school it enables us to make sure that children who walk to school alone are absent with their parents’ permission. If we do not receive a message we will contact parents either by telephone or text.

Holidays in term time 

Holiday or days off in school time are not permitted except in exceptional circumstances.  The Head teacher will review each application and will give you an answer as soon as possible. Holidays in term time may lead to a £60 per child, per parent Penalty Notice which will be issued once your child/children return to school from their holiday.

Please note that if you require an exceptional circumstance absence during school time please contact school to arrange an interview with Mr Beswick BEFORE you make any arrangements. Any unauthorised absences are passed to our EWO who may fine both parents.

Attendance Matters

At Barton Clough Primary we are working very hard to improve attendance and punctuality. It is vital that children attend school every day so that they have the best chance of reaching their full potential – every day counts!

Coming to school every day helps children to learn new exciting things, build lasting friendships and promotes self-esteem and confidence.

A child with 90% attendance may seem good, but it actually means that you child would miss:

  • one half day each week.
  • nearly four weeks of a school year.

We understand that children will miss school due to illness or other unforeseen circumstances, but we urge parents to send children in when they are well enough to attend. For information about attendance procedures please see our school attendance policy

The school has a number of support strategies in place to help ensure that all pupils can achieve full attendance, these include:

  • regular monitoring of attendance and punctuality.
  • termly winners of Attendance Certificate.
  • 100% Attendance Certificates and treat for every child who attends school every day.